2008 MINUTES of the Annual Methodist Cemetery Association Meeting

The 2008 Annual Meeting of the Methodist Cemetery Association was called to order at 2 pm on June 22, 2008. The meeting was presided over by the Vice President of the Association, Diane Tamayo. There was a quorum present.

Those present were: Diane Tamayo, Pete Tamayo, Dorothy Ford, Amy Patterson, Sue Snowden, Margaret Amundson, Steve Davis, Bill Mastbrook, Barbara Tate (& husband), John Schwartz, Marshie Bates, Joan Rentner (& husband), and Jane Waldman.

The vice president opened the meeting by expressing our sorrow at the death of our president Audrey Schwartz, as well as our deep appreciation for all of her hard work on behalf of the Methodist Cemetery. She will be greatly missed.

OLD BUSINESS

The reading of the minutes of the last meeting was dispensed with by majority vote.

A Copy of the Treasurer's report was distributed to those present and is attached to these minutes. This report includes the 2008 Proposed Budget as well as the 2007 Fiscal Report.

Improvements – A report was given as to the work done on the shed (new roof and door). The new landscaping was described: four new flowering trees, 10 Rose of Sharon's, as well as 60 some new plants along the top of the wall. Additionally, the on-going tombstone repair was described for 14 tombstones.

A report was given as to the sale of Eldbrooke Church (purchased by City Church in January 2008). Before this sale, a survey showed that a small section of the land thought to be part of the cemetery was, in fact, part of the church property. The land was deeded to the cemetery prior to the sale of the church.

Landmark Status – In April the cemetery officially became a DC Landmark and has been nominated to the National Register of Historic Places – same with the church.

NEW BUSINESS

The nomination of John Schwartz for honorary lifetime membership was made, seconded, and passed unanimously. His eligibility for membership is a result of his being the surviving spouse of a member; honorary lifetime membership was awarded in recognition of his continued devotion to the maintenance of the cemetery.

The election of a new slate of Board of Directors took place. The new slate is as follows:

Diane Tamayo, Dorothy Ford, Amy Patterson, Margaret Amundson, Steve Davis, Bill Mastbrook, and Barbara Tate. Following the General Meeting of the Association, a Board of Directors meeting will take place where the individuals will be selected to fill each office, and updated signature authority and change of mailing address for the Association will be determined accordingly and appropriate action taken.

The intent to form a Committee of Community Involvement to raise the level of community awareness was brought before the membership. It was decided that Jean Pablo would head the committee and a few suggestions were made, i.e. an Easter Sunrise Service, possible All Saints Day Celebration, an outreach project to link various DC families.

Additional discussion addressed the issue of increasing the membership of the Association in the hopes of involving younger people.

There will be a Board of Directors meeting immediately following the closure of the general meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:03 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Dorothy W. Ford Dorothy W. Ford Recording Secretary

ADDENDUM:

The Board of Directors of the Methodist Cemetery Association met immediately following the General Meeting (at 3:06 pm). From the newly elected slate of directors the following officers were selected:

President – Diane Tamayo Vice President – Bill Mastbrook Treasurer – Amy Patterson Corresponding Secretary – Margaret Amundson Recording Secretary – Dorothy Ford Trustee – Steve Davis Trustee – Barbara Tate

> Dorothy W. Ford Dorothy W. Ford Recording Secretary