2010 MINUTES of the

Annual Methodist Cemetery Association Meeting

The 2010 Annual Meeting of the Methodist Cemetery Association was called to order at 3:05 pm on Sunday, September 2010. The Meeting was presided over by the President of the Association, Diane Tamayo. There was a quorum present.

Those present were: Diane Tamayo, John Schwartz, Nancy Werner, Ellen Joyce, Barbara Tate, Jack Walther, Stephen Davis, Jean Pablo, Dorothy Ford, Deborah Jaquiss and Jane Waldmann.

OLD BUSINESS

Dues of attending members were collected.

Reading of the minutes of the 2009 meeting – a motion was made by Stephen Davis to dispense with the reading of the minutes. The motion was seconded by Jack Walther. A vote was taken and the motion passed.

A copy of the Treasurer's report was distributed to those present and is attached to these minutes. This report includes the 2010 Proposed Budget as well as the 2009 Fiscal Report. Items listed in the Fiscal Report as well as those listed in the Proposed Budget for 2010 were discussed. The lack of Liability Insurance was discussed and tabled for future discussion. A motion was made by Jack Walther to accept the 2010 Proposed Budget. The motion seconded by Stephen Davis. A vote was taken and the motion was passed.

Election of Board: A motion was made by Jack Walther to reduce the size of the Board of Directors from seven (7) to five (5), with the removal of "trustee" positions. The motion was seconded by Stephen Davis. A vote was taken and the motion was passed. This introduced the first topic of New Business.

NEW BUSINESS

Amendments to the Bylaws of the Association: The following amendments to the bylaws were discussed and agreement was reached.

ARTICLE I

SECTION 2. The word "former" placed before the name of Eldbrooke United Methodist Church. The mailing address of the Association is now "1896 Milboro Drive, Rockville, MD 20854".

ARTICLE IV

SECTION 2. Placing the words "past ties" and "the former" when referring to Eldbrooke United Methodist Church.

ARTICLE V

SECTION 3. The number of Directors was changed from seven (7) to five (5). When referring to the term of service for the directors of the association the time of service will be "two years" rather than one year.

SECTION 4. The word "the" is replaced by "an" before the words "annual meeting".

SECTION 6. After the word "Director" the words "including an officer" shall be deleted.

ARTICLE VI

SECTION 2. The word "an" shall replace the word "the" when referring to "annual meeting of the Board of Directors".

ARTICLE VII

SECTION 3. The number for a quorum was changed from nine (9) to seven (7).

The above changes were unanimously approved by a vote of the members. Additionally, two new sections to Article VII were considered:

ADDITION OF SECTION 5. <u>Action Without A Meeting</u>: Any action required or permitted to be taken by the members and/or the Board of Directors or any committee thereof may be taken without a meeting if a majority of the members, or majority of the Board or the committee consent in writing to the adoption of a resolution authorizing the action. The resolution and the written consents thereto by the members of the Board or committee shall be filed with the minutes of the proceedings of the Board or Committee.

ADDITION OF SECTION 6. <u>Participation By Communications Equipment:</u> Any one or more members of the Association or the Board may participate in a meeting of such Association or Board by means of a conference telephone or similar communications equipment allowing all persons participating in the meeting to hear each other at the same time. Participation by such means shall constitute presence in person at a meeting.

These two additions to Article VII were discussed, but it was agreed that these new sections would require further investigation and should be taken up at a later meeting of the Association. A vote was affirmative on all other changes. The complete revision to the bylaws is attached to these minutes.

In keeping with the new bylaws reducing the Board to five members, the new Board subsequently elected is listed below:

Diane Tamayo Stephen Davis Amy Patterson Nancy Werner Dorothy Ford.

Tenleytown Heritage Trail Information (November 2010) was furnished. (Further information since the meeting: launch date is Saturday, November 13th. Trail signs are already being installed.)

Web Site: The Association is continuing to look into establishing a new web site for the cemetery. An effort will be made to include past and present photos as well as family stories of interest to the public.

An effort will be made to hold the next Annual Meeting on the 3rd Sunday of May (the 15th). Exact notification of this meeting will be made at a later date.

A motion to adjourn the meeting at 4 p.m. was made by Stephen Davis and seconded by Jack Walther. A vote for adjournment was taken and passed.

Respectfully Submitted,

DOROTHY FORD Recording Secretary

Board of Directors Meeting

A short meeting of the Board of Directors was held immediately following the Annual

Meeting which determined the positions of the officers as follows:

President: Diane Tamayo Vice President: Stephen Davis Treasurer: Amy Patterson

Corresponding Secretary: Nancy Werner Recording Secretary: Dorothy Ford